Skip To Main Content
2023 County Science Teacher Award

Congratulations to Jonathan Shapiro on being named a 2023 County Science Educator of the Year by the Massachusetts Association of Science Teachers! 

The following educators were chosen to receive state or county recognition for significant contributions and exemplary teaching or supervision of science education in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

The following persons will receive awards at our annual banquet on November 7th at the Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel and Trade Center, Marlborough, MA. 

This year’s honorees are:

  • Dawn Sather Exemplary New Teacher Award  
  • Beverly Stickles, Whittier Regional Vocational Technical High School, Haverhill                                                                               

Russell P. Stanhope Distinguished Friend of Science Award                            

  • Rebekah Stendahl, Massachusetts Science and Engineering Fair, Cambridge

Joann Blum Inspiration in Environmental Education Award

  • Nancy Flasher, Provincetown IB World Schools, Provincetown

Elaine Adams Professional Development Award

  • Lisa Rioles Collins, Norfolk County Agricultural High School, Walpole


2022 MAST Conference Recognized Presenter  

  • Kathleen Vandiver, MIT Edgerton Center, Cambridge

2023 County Science Educator of the Year Awards                                                                                                                                                                      

  • Barnstable County -  Kari Flint, Monomoy Regional High School, Harwich
  • Dukes County - Anna Cotton, Martha's Vineyard Regional High School, Oaks Bluff
  • Middlesex County -Samantha Genier, Frank Ashley Day Middle School, Newton
  • Plymouth County - Jonathan Shapiro, Pembroke Public Schools, Pembroke
  • Worcester County - Bonnie Nieves, Nipmuc Regional High School, Upton

2023 MAST State Educator of the Year Award                                                                                      

  • Craig Richard, North Andover Middle School, North Andover 

The criteria for these awards are:

  1. A past history of being an active, contributing member of national, state, and/or local science teacher organizations.

  2. Provided a leadership role in promoting and advancing the cause of quality science education among his or her peers.

  3. Active in promoting and advancing the cause of quality science education among students

Their colleagues admire these educators for how they have unselfishly devoted their lives to the improvement of science education. MAST appreciates what they do! We are sure that it is gratifying to you to know that science educators from across the Commonwealth of Massachusetts have voted to honor these professionals.